The New York State Drinking Driver Program is available to New York drivers whose licenses have been revoked or suspended due to being convicted of an alcohol or drug related driving offense.
Completing The New York State Drinking Driver Program (DDP) may allow a motorist to obtain a conditional license or restore driving privileges, although there are exceptions.
The program consists of seven weekly classroom sessions of two to three hours per session, for a total of 16 hours of classroom attendance. At the conclusion of these sessions, you may be deemed to have successfully completed the program, or you may be referred for further evaluation and or treatment.
Costs include a $75 enrollment fee payable to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, and the program tuition charged by the agency, which is currently capped at $225.
Generally, conditional licenses allow a motorist to drive to and from work, to and from accredited schools and colleges, to child care facilities, to medical appointments, and to court and DMV appearances. These rules change frequently, so do not rely on this article for current legal advice. Contact the Department of Motor Vehicles for updated and complete rules and conditions.
Keep in mind that conditional licenses are never valid for driving a taxicab or any vehicle that requires a Commercial Driver’s License.
As always, remember that nothing contained in this article should be considered legal advice or counsel. Consult your own attorney for advice on your particular situation, since there are many exceptions and nuances in this area of law.